Attach-and-Train CCP: The Mode Where You Hire Nobody
In short
Attach-and-Train is the CCP mode with no employment contract. You host the attachment, you are only encouraged to hire after, and it is still full-time only.Attach-and-Train CCP is the one mode of the Career Conversion Programme where the mid-career person never joins your payroll. You act as a Host Employer, providing training and a work attachment in a growth job role. There is no employment contract, and at the end you are encouraged to hire — not obliged.
Key takeaways
- In SWDA's July 2026 CCP FAQs, Attach-and-Train makes you a Host Employer, not the employer.
- Host employers are “strongly encouraged” to offer employment afterwards. That is the exact wording. It is not a requirement.
- Attach-and-Train still requires full-time attachment positions. The 1 April 2025 flexi-load relaxation applies only to the other two modes.
- The host-employer criteria carry no permanent-contract clause and no market-rate salary clause. Place-and-Train carries both.
- Training typically runs 3 to 6 months, across around 30 sectors.
- If you already know who you want on your payroll, this is the wrong mode. Better to hear that now than in week nine.
What is Attach-and-Train CCP?
It is a pipeline mode, not a hiring mode. That single sentence resolves most of the confusion around it.
The SWDA CCP FAQs dated July 2026 describe it as a mode where the company acts as a Host Employer. You provide a jobseeker with training and work attachments, in growth job roles where there are good prospects for placement. Mid-career individuals undergo reskilling to become job-ready ahead of placement.
Read that word order again. Reskilling first, placement after. In the other two modes the person is already yours when the training starts.
The three modes, side by side
Most guides list the modes as three equal options. They are not equal, and the difference is who signs what.
| Place-and-Train | Attach-and-Train | Job Redesign Reskilling | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Who the person is | A jobseeker you hire | A jobseeker on attachment | An existing employee |
| On your payroll? | Yes, from day one | No | Already was |
| Contract required | Permanent, or 1 year or more | Not stated in the criteria | Permanent, or 1 year or more |
| Market-rate pay clause | Yes | Not stated in the criteria | Yes |
| Flexi-load allowed | Yes, since 1 Apr 2025 | No — full-time only | Yes, since 1 Apr 2025 |
| Obliged to hire after? | Already hired | No, only encouraged | Already employed |
Every row in that table comes from the same FAQs document. We have written “not stated in the criteria” rather than “none”, because the absence of a clause is not the same as permission — your Programme Partner may still set terms.
If the payroll row is the one that matters to you, you have already chosen. Our comparison of Place-and-Train against Job Redesign takes the decision from there.
Who is the employer in Attach-and-Train?
You are the host. Someone else carries the employment relationship, and that is the point of the design.
SWDA administers CCPs through Programme Partners, usually industry bodies that work with companies on the programme. For Attach-and-Train, the FAQs say those partners screen jobseekers themselves. The stated purpose is assurance that trainees have the right attitude and are suitable for the identified job roles. Partners may also help trainees source employment opportunities afterwards.
So the screening you would normally do yourself is done upstream, by a partner, against a role profile rather than against your team. That is a genuine saving of effort and a genuine loss of control, and which of those matters more is your call, not ours.
Do you have to hire the trainee at the end?
No. The FAQs say host employers are “strongly encouraged” to offer employment to eligible trainees who have met satisfactory training and performance requirements.
Encouraged is not required, and the same passage adds that trainees will be able to leverage the skills and experience from the attachment in their own job search. The scheme plans for the possibility that you will not hire them.
Be careful with how that freedom reads from the other side. A trainee who spends three to six months in your business is making a bet on you. An attachment treated as free labour with an exit is also the kind a Programme Partner quietly stops filling, and partners choose which hosts to place people with.
What does SWDA ask of a host employer?
Four criteria, and they are visibly lighter than the ones Place-and-Train carries.
- Your company is registered or incorporated in Singapore.
- You offer full-time attachment positions directly relevant to the identified Attach-and-Train CCP job occupations.
- You commit to the Attach-and-Train CCP training arrangements.
- You commit to working with SWDA or its appointed partner on programme administrative requirements.
Notice what is missing. There is no permanent-or-one-year contract clause and no requirement that pay be commensurate with the market rate, because there is no employment contract to attach either clause to. Place-and-Train and Job Redesign Reskilling both carry those two conditions in full.
That lighter list is the honest attraction of the mode. It is also the reason it cannot do the job most employers came for.
Why is Attach-and-Train still full-time only?
Because the 1 April 2025 change was written for employment contracts, and an attachment is not one.
From that date, companies participating in Place-and-Train or Job Redesign Reskilling may offer either full-time or flexi-load working arrangements — part-time employment included — and still qualify for CCP support. The FAQs set Attach-and-Train apart in the very next block: hosting employers must offer full-time attachment positions.
This matters if you were hoping to host someone two or three days a week. You cannot. The flexibility that arrived in 2025 arrived only for the modes where the person is on a payroll. The individual criteria echo it: a CCP participant must be able to commit to full-time employment or attachment in a participating company.
Who is even eligible to be the trainee?
Five conditions, and they apply whichever mode you pick. Get these wrong and the mode question never matters.
- A Singapore Citizen or Permanent Resident.
- Minimum 21 years old.
- Graduated, or completed National Service, for at least 2 years — counted from the later of the two.
- The new job role must be substantially different from previous roles, so that reskilling is genuinely needed.
- Able to commit to full-time employment or attachment in a participating company.
The 2-year clause is the one that surprises employers most. It rules out this year's graduate entirely, however good they are, because CCP funding is aimed at mid-career individuals rather than first jobs.
What the other two modes pay, and why that number belongs here
You cannot compare modes on funding alone, but you should know what you are stepping away from.
The SWDA CCP factsheet dated July 2026 sets two salary-support bands for the modes that put a person on your payroll. The standard band is up to 70% of monthly salary, capped at S$5,000 a month. The enhanced band is up to 90%, capped at S$7,500, for mature trainees aged 40 and above and for the long-term unemployed.
On a S$5,000 salary that is S$3,500 a month at the standard rate and S$4,500 at the enhanced one. Across a 4-month programme the enhanced band is worth roughly S$4,000 more for the same hire.
SWDA states no equivalent rate or cap for Attach-and-Train in either of those documents, so we quote none. That silence is itself worth noticing: the published salary support is built around a salary, and in Attach-and-Train there isn't one.
The other number to hold is the 3-month rule. A Place-and-Train application must be approved within three months from the employment start date, which is why the order of your steps decides your cost.
How does Attach-and-Train differ from the Place-and-Train programme?
The place and train programme is the one most employers actually mean when they say CCP. The difference is a signature.
Under Place-and-Train, the company hires the jobseeker and puts that individual through on-the-job training to take on a new growth job role. The person is on your payroll from day 1. You must offer permanent terms or a contract of no less than 1 year, directly related to the CCP job, at pay commensurate with the market rate.
Under Attach-and-Train, none of that applies, because there is no hire. You provide a full-time attachment and a training place. At the end you are encouraged, not required, to make an offer.
There is a third route, Job Redesign Reskilling, for an employee you already have. Our practice does not work on that route, and neither does this article. If you want the comparison between the two payroll modes, we set it out in Place-and-Train vs Job Redesign.
Is there a separate CCP grant for Attach-and-Train?
No separate CCP grant is published for it, and that is a real answer rather than a gap in our research.
The CCP grant everyone quotes is salary support: 70% capped at S$5,000 a month at the standard band, 90% capped at S$7,500 for trainees aged 40 and above. Both are stated in the July 2026 factsheet, and both are calculated against a salary you are paying. In Attach-and-Train you are not paying one.
Neither the factsheet nor the FAQs states an Attach-and-Train rate, cap or allowance. We will not fill that silence with an estimate. Ask your Programme Partner for the funding position in writing before you agree to host anyone.
If it is the salary-support grant you came looking for, the numbers and the arithmetic are laid out in the grant for hiring older workers, which covers both bands in detail.
Is a CCP a course?
No, and the misreading costs employers weeks. A CCP is a funded conversion built around a real job, not a class you enrol someone in.
SWDA states that CCP training generally comprises structured on-the-job training delivered by the hiring employer and, if required, external structured training from an external training provider. The centre of gravity is your workplace. The classroom part is the supplement.
That is why a CCP course search usually ends in the wrong place. The thing being approved is a job role, an employer and a training plan together, which is also why role selection decides so much of the outcome. Our breakdown of which of the 27 HR roles actually convert shows how narrow that judgement can get.
One more consequence of the same rule: a fresh graduate is not eligible. CCP funding targets mid-career individuals with a minimum age of 21, and the 2-year clause above closes the door on this year's cohort.
So which mode is actually yours?
Here is the verdict before the reasoning, because you probably came here to settle exactly this.
If you have a person in mind, or a vacancy you need filled, Attach-and-Train is not your mode. Place-and-Train is. Attach-and-Train is for employers who want exposure to a trained talent pool without committing to any individual in it — and who can absorb a full-time attachment for three to six months in return.
Three questions settle it in about a minute:
- Is there a named person you want? If yes, you need the mode that hires them.
- Do you need the seat filled permanently at the end? If yes, do not rely on “encouraged”.
- Can you host full-time? If no, Attach-and-Train is closed to you regardless of the answers above.
This practice works on the new-hire route — getting a Singapore employer through a Place-and-Train application for someone they are actually hiring. We would rather tell you plainly when that is not what you need.
What Attach-and-Train does not work for
Some employers should hear a straight no, and hearing it now is cheaper than hearing it in week nine.
It does not work if you need a specific person. It does not work if you can only offer part-time or reduced hours. It does not work as a trial period for someone you have already interviewed and want — that is a Place-and-Train hire wearing a disguise, and the mismatch shows up in the file. Our list of the eight points where CCP applications fail covers what happens when the mode and the intention disagree.
And it does not work if your Singapore entity is not registered or incorporated here. A regional parent does not carry that for you in any mode.
How big is the programme you would be joining?
Large enough to be real, small enough that sector fit decides everything.
Between 2020 and 2025, close to 44,000 workers were placed through CCPs, and SWDA currently runs CCPs across around 30 sectors, including Healthcare, Infocomm Technology, Manufacturing and Early Childhood Care and Education. Attach-and-Train sectors are chosen for growth potential and long-term manpower demand, in consultation with the sector agencies.
Placement is stated as the key objective of CCPs. That is worth holding on to when you weigh a mode whose whole design defers the placement to the end.
What to do next, in order
The sequence matters more than the paperwork, and it is where most of the cost hides.
- Decide whether you are hiring a person or building a pipeline. That answer picks the mode; nothing else does.
- If you are hiring, check the person against the individual criteria before you write the offer.
- Secure the approval letter, then recruit inside its validity window.
- Start the salary last, with the funding position already settled.
Steps 3 and 4 in that order are the whole argument. Getting the approval letter first can be done before you recruit, it stays valid for six months, and it avoids paying a full salary while the application is still under review. Reverse the order and you carry unfunded payroll against a clock you do not control — the arithmetic is set out in full in the three-month approval deadline.
Check the person before you choose the mode
It takes about a minute, and it is the step that stops a mode-choice mistake becoming a quarter-long one.
Run our eligibility check against the person you have in mind. It walks the criteria in the order an assessor does and tells you whether the hire is fundable before you advertise anything, and clearing it unlocks the payment options. Our published pricing shows what the work costs before you commit to it.
If you would rather write to us first, we read everything that arrives at hello@ccpconsulting.sg.
Frequently asked questions
What is Attach-and-Train CCP in one sentence?
It is the CCP mode where your company acts as a Host Employer, giving a mid-career jobseeker training and a work attachment in a growth job role, without that person joining your payroll. Reskilling happens ahead of placement, not after it.
Is the Attach-and-Train trainee my employee?
No. You host the attachment. The host-employer criteria in SWDA's July 2026 FAQs carry no employment-contract clause, which is precisely why they are shorter than the Place-and-Train criteria.
Must I offer the trainee a job at the end?
No. SWDA says host employers are strongly encouraged to offer employment to eligible trainees who meet satisfactory training and performance requirements. Encouraged, not required — and the FAQs explicitly expect some trainees to job-search elsewhere afterwards.
Can I host an Attach-and-Train trainee part-time?
No. Hosting employers must offer full-time attachment positions. The flexi-load option introduced on 1 April 2025 applies to Place-and-Train and Job Redesign Reskilling only.
How long does an Attach-and-Train attachment last?
CCP training typically runs three to six months, depending on the programme and the job requirements. Confirm the exact duration in writing with your Programme Partner before you plan around it.
Who do I actually apply to?
CCPs are typically administered by Programme Partners, usually industry partners who work with companies on the programme. You register interest, and the relevant Programme Partner follows up. SWDA sets the rules; the partner runs the process.
Is CCP still a WSG programme?
Same programme, new agency. Workforce Singapore and SkillsFuture Singapore are being merged into a new statutory board, announced by Prime Minister Lawrence Wong at Budget 2026 on 12 February 2026. Cite SWDA when you quote a rule.
Where are CCP roles advertised?
CCP-supportable openings appear on MyCareersFuture, with the relevant programme named on the posting itself.
About this article. Every criterion, definition and duration quoted here comes from SWDA's published CCP FAQs dated July 2026 and its employer page, and was checked on 7 September 2026.
Two things are deliberately absent. SWDA does not state an Attach-and-Train funding rate or cap in either source, so this article quotes none. Neither source describes how or when salary support is disbursed, so that is not covered here either. The six-month validity of an approval letter is drawn from this practice's own submissions and is not a published service standard.
Programme rules, funding levels and sector lists are set by SWDA and change without notice, and eligibility is assessed case by case by SWDA and its Programme Partners. Confirm your position with SWDA, or with a qualified adviser, before you commit to a hire or an attachment. Nothing here implies any influence over an approval decision, and nothing here is employment-law advice. Whether Attach-and-Train or Place-and-Train fits your situation is a question the eligibility check settles in about a minute.
From this article to your approval letter
How it works with us
- Check your eligibilityA few quick questions on your company, the role and the hire. Free, about a minute, no obligation. If you do not qualify, we will say so.
- Choose your optionPayment unlocks after the check. Both options and every fee are published on the pricing page.
- We build your caseAudit, documentation and an SWDA-ready training curriculum, prepared by us.
- We submit and see it throughWe submit and liaise with SWDA through to your approval letter. Approval takes 12–15 weeks, depending on SWDA, and salary support starts only once the letter is issued.
The better route: get the approval letter first, then hire. It stays valid for six months, so you are not paying a full salary while the application waits.
Start with the eligibility check →Employers we have supported
Singapore businesses we have visited and supported through the Career Conversion Programme.
-
Autolution Cartimes Automotive -
EarthStone Stone surfaces showroom -
Aneric Enterprise (EGNITE) Semiconductor equipment and services -
Blush Artisan Cakes Artisan cake studio -
Glazity Auto Automotive glass specialist -
Pressto Laundry and dry cleaning
Not sure whether your hire qualifies?
The eligibility check takes about a minute and costs nothing. If you do not qualify, we will say so.
And if you do qualify and we take the file on: either the subsidies come through, or the cost is on us. The terms, including how many resubmissions are covered, are published in full on the pricing page — nothing about them is decided here.