CCP Employee Resigns? What Happens to the Grant (2026)
In short
If a CCP employee resigns, you usually keep support for the months worked. We read 17 CCP documents: who pro-rates, who allows a replacement, what to file.
In short: If a CCP employee resigns before the programme ends, you usually keep the salary support for the time they actually worked. In our 5 October count, 6 of 17 CCP documents state a rule, and all six describe pro-rating, none outright cancellation. The training milestones and paperwork decide how much survives.
Two things before that matters. SWDA itself publishes no rule on early exits, so the answers below come from the programme partners, and whether you can put a replacement through depends on which partner you filed with. And the role must first clear our S$3,000 basic-salary screen; filing with us starts with a SGD 100 consultation, then SGD 2,250 to proceed (see pricing).
Key takeaways
- On 5 October 2026 we read 17 CCP documents from 13 publishers. Only 6, from 4 programme partners, say what happens when a trainee leaves early.
- All 6 describe cutting the support back to the time worked. None says a resignation cancels it, though the hotel partner decides case by case.
- The two partners we read for CCP for SME Professionals disagree on replacements: SBF allows one, ASME does not.
- The trainee owes you nothing under the SME Professionals programme. SBF says it imposes no bond on them.

What happens to the salary support when a CCP employee resigns?
On every partner route that answers the question, the support is cut back to the period your hire really worked or trained. You lose the months that never happened, not the months that did. A sales consultant who leaves in month two of a three-month programme still earns you support for month one and part of month two, provided the conditions below are met.
That matters most if the role is one people can leave quickly, such as a sales or teaching post. If you are counting on the grant to carry a new hire's first months, plan for the exit before the offer letter, not after the resignation letter.
The grant itself is the same everywhere. Per the SWDA factsheet, the standard rate is up to 70% of the monthly salary with a $5,000 ceiling; a Singapore Citizen or PR who is 40 or older, or has been out of work for six months or more, can get up to 90%, with a $7,500 ceiling. What changes after a resignation is how many months of it you can claim.
What does SWDA itself say about a trainee leaving?
Nothing, as far as an employer is concerned. We read the agency's own CCP FAQs and its factsheet line by line. The FAQs mention resignation once, and it is the jobseeker's: when to leave a current job before joining a programme. Neither document says what happens to an employer's support if the trainee leaves halfway.
Which means the rule you live by is your programme partner's, not SWDA's. If you filed through a partner, its FAQ or terms are the document to read tonight. If you have not filed yet, ask the partner the question in writing before you sign anything. Our guide to the CCP grant for employers explains how partners fit into the scheme.
What do the programme partners say? 6 of 17 documents
Six documents answer the question. Eleven readable ones stay silent, including SWDA's two. Here is what the six say, attributed to the partner that wrote each one.
| Partner and document | What happens to support | Replacement hire | Conditions they name |
|---|---|---|---|
| SBF, CCP for SME Professionals FAQ (Sep 2025) | Pro-rated up to the leaver's last working day that month | Allowed | The 3-day workshop must be done before the last working day |
| SBF, SME Professionals and Wholesale Trade claims decks | Pro-rated | Not stated | The resignation letter goes in the claim pack |
| ASME, CCP for SME Professionals FAQ (15 Sep 2025) | Pro-rated to the days worked within the programme | Not allowed | Workshop completed; tell ASME by email |
| SHA, hotel CCP FAQ | Pro-ration up to the last working or training day may be allowed, case by case | Not stated | Needs the agency's approval |
| SCAL Academy (SCALA), built-environment CCP terms (Jul 2025) | Pro-rated to the actual training period | Not stated | Tell SCALA at once; claim within 6 months of the withdrawal date |
Source: our reading of the partners' own documents, fetched 5 October 2026. The two SBF claims decks are counted as two documents in one row.
The SBF FAQ is the most specific. Support runs to the leaver's last working day in that month, and the company must make sure the hire finished the three-day workshop before leaving. The ASME FAQ words it as a share of the days worked, and makes the workshop a condition of any support at all.
The hotel association's FAQ is the softest. It says pro-ration may be allowed, decided case by case and approved by the agency. On that route, nothing is automatic.
The SCALA terms add a deadline the others leave out. Claims must reach the agency within six months of the programme's end, or of the date the trainee withdrew, or the employer's eligibility may lapse. They also ask for training logbooks signed for the full period before the full grant is paid.
Can you put a replacement through?
It depends on the partner. This is where the documents split. Both SBF and ASME run CCP for SME Professionals, and their FAQs, both dated September 2025, answer the same question in opposite ways.
SBF says yes. An SME may hire a replacement and still get support, but the new person attends the three-day workshop and does the full three-month on-the-job training again. All the usual eligibility rules apply to them.
ASME says no. A leaver cannot be swapped out to finish the training. A new hire goes through the application process as a fresh candidate.
In practice the gap is smaller than it looks, because either way the replacement starts from zero: new person, new checks, new training period. Treat them as a new hire in every respect, including SWDA's rule that approval must land within 3 months of the start date (our note on the 3-month approval deadline explains the clock). What differs is the paperwork route, so ask your partner which one applies before you advertise the vacancy again.
Does the trainee owe you anything for leaving?
Not under the SME Professionals programme. The SBF FAQ says it imposes no bond on trainees, though whatever notice and other terms sit in your own employment contract still apply.
The idea of a bond comes from a different kind of CCP. The Healthcare CCP for allied health professionals sponsors a trainee's studies, and a trainee who withdraws there is liable for liquidated damages. That is a sponsorship bond between the trainee and the sponsor. It is not something a car dealer, design studio or tuition centre can invoke under an ordinary new-hire CCP.
Which means your protection is your employment contract and your hiring judgement, not the grant. If a notice period matters to you, write it into the offer.
How much survives if a S$3,500 hire leaves in month two?
Take a sales consultant on S$3,500 fixed monthly salary, under 40, on a three-month SME Professionals programme. At the standard rate in the SWDA factsheet, 70%, the support is S$2,450 a month, or S$7,350 if they stay to the end.
Now say they resign and their last day falls in the middle of month two, after they finished the three-day workshop. On the worked-days reading in the ASME FAQ, you can expect the full first month and roughly half of the second: around S$3,675 instead of S$7,350. The partner calculates the exact figure from your payslips and the resignation date, so treat ours as an illustration, not a quote.
Change one fact: the hire leaves before attending the workshop. Both SME Professionals partners, SBF and ASME, make the workshop a condition, so you should be ready for the claim on that hire to fail. On our illustration, that single date can move the answer from about S$3,675 to nothing, which is why the workshop belongs in month one, not month three.
On a six-month programme such as the built-environment route SCALA runs, the same logic applies over a longer period: support follows the training that actually happened. Our article on when CCP salary support is paid covers the timing of the money itself.
When is CCP the wrong plan for a high-turnover role?
If most people you hire into a role leave inside two months, a three-month programme will rarely pay out in full, and the admin may outweigh what the pro-rated support returns. For that role, hiring on normal terms is the honest choice.
CCP fits better where you expect the hire to stay past the training period: a sales manager, a project manager, an education consultant you are building a team around. If you are unsure, our guide to CCP for SME Professionals sets out which roles the programme is built for.
What should you do the week the resignation letter arrives?
- Tell your partner straight away. ASME asks for an email; SCALA asks to be told immediately. Do not wait for the programme's end date.
- Keep the resignation letter. SBF lists it as a claim document for pro-ration.
- Check the workshop date. If the hire has not done the three-day workshop, ask the partner what can still be claimed before the last working day passes.
- Collect the evidence for the months worked: signed training logbook or OJT record, itemised payslips and CPF contribution statements.
- Diary the claim deadline. On the SCALA route it is six months from the withdrawal date. Assume a deadline exists on every route until your partner tells you otherwise.
- Decide on a replacement only after asking the partner whether it allows one, and treat that person as a brand-new hire with a fresh 3-month approval clock.
- Keep everything for audits. SCALA warns that an employer who cannot produce documents when asked may have support clawed back in part or in full. That risk comes from missing records, not from the resignation itself.
If an application was turned down rather than cut short, a different set of rules applies; our note on what can be saved after a rejection covers that case. The OJT training plan guide shows how to front-load the milestones that protect your claim.
Check the role before you sign
Before the offer letter goes out, run our one-minute eligibility check on the role and the person. If it clears, the published payment options unlock and we file. If it doesn't clear, you'll know before anyone's salary depends on a grant. Questions? Email us.
Method
On 5 October 2026 we fetched 21 documents with a named user agent and saved the text with a checksum: SWDA's CCP FAQs and factsheet, the e2i FAQ, and the employer FAQs, claims decks, terms or programme pages of programme partners for live CCPs. Four could not be read by a script that day (two returned a bot check, one rate-limited us, one refused access); they stay in the data as unreadable, not guessed. A fixed word rule flagged passages about resigning, dropping out, pro-ration, withdrawal, replacement and clawback. We then read every flagged passage, and every document with no flag, by hand, and coded what each says on six points.
Limits
Partner documents describe partner practice, not SWDA policy, and some are undated. Letters of offer and funding agreements are not public, so your own terms may differ. The hotel rule is discretionary by its own wording. Our worked example is an illustration of the published wording, not a calculation any partner has confirmed. Seventeen readable documents are the employer-facing material we could reach on one day, not every programme.
Cite this
What CCP partners say when a trainee leaves early: a census of 21 programme documents, CCP Consulting, collected 5 October 2026, dataset version 1 (17 readable, 6 with an exit rule). Dataset: anonymised CSV.
From this article to your approval letter
How it works with us
- Check your eligibilityA few quick questions on your company, the role and the hire. Free, about a minute, no obligation. If you do not qualify, we will say so.
- Choose your optionPayment unlocks after the check. Both options and every fee are published on the pricing page.
- We build your caseAudit, documentation and an SWDA-ready training curriculum, prepared by us.
- We submit and see it throughWe submit and liaise with SWDA through to your approval letter. Approval takes 12–15 weeks, depending on SWDA, and salary support starts only once the letter is issued.
The better route: get the approval letter first, then hire. It stays valid for six months, so you are not paying a full salary while the application waits.
Start with the eligibility check →Employers we have supported
Singapore businesses we have visited and supported through the Career Conversion Programme.
-
Autolution Cartimes Automotive -
EarthStone Stone surfaces showroom -
Aneric Enterprise (EGNITE) Semiconductor equipment and services -
Blush Artisan Cakes Artisan cake studio -
Glazity Auto Automotive glass specialist -
Pressto Laundry and dry cleaning
Not sure whether your hire qualifies?
The eligibility check takes about a minute and costs nothing. If you do not qualify, we will say so.
And if you do qualify and we take the file on: either the subsidies come through, or the cost is on us. The terms, including how many resubmissions are covered, are published in full on the pricing page — nothing about them is decided here.